Advice: will work for love

“I don’t need the money, dear. I work for art.” –Maria Callas


And how she struggled for that art, and how the circumstances of her artistic and personal life tried to beat her back so many times, and how she prevailed, and how enriched the world is because of her voice.

Think about doing this. Believe so strongly in the power and entitlement of Your Voice that you would kill tigers just to hear it echo in triumph. Love your art first and best, before anyone else does. Work for love.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Advice: will work for love”

  1. Brian in Wien Says:

    I lived for art, I lived for love, I never did harm to a living soul…

    When she hits the big note it isn’t perfect, but it is even better and more emotional because it isn’t.

    I know it most definitely isn’t about me, but this really hits where I am at the moment. I have to sing on Saturday. For me, it is the big event. If I do OK, it will be something my grandchildren (if I have any) will see and say, man, that dude was a cool guy. If I fall down the stairs or crack the high note, I’ll throw the copy away and will try to forget. For some reason the fear of falling down the stairs comes back every now and again….stupid…

    Thanks so much, e. What I’ll be doing is a lot more schmaltzy than what she is doing here, but I will give it a shot. I will try to bring her all-consuming spirit into it, and forget the damn stairs.

  2. Brian in Wien Says:

    I just realized this is an old entry – I wonder why it showed up today on the RSS feed. Strange, since it is what I really needed to see.

Leave a Reply

