NSFW November: Miss November 1963, Terre Tucker

The most shocking and interesting feature for me about Terre Tucker, Miss November 1963, is her real age at the time she posed for Playboy: the article that acommpanied her pictorial states she was 19, but it would seem there is some controversy around that figure.


Photographed by Stan Molinowski

This take-life-as-she-finds-it girl is umber-tressed Terre Tucker, our November Playmate, an emerald-eyed 19-year-old who ripened under Arizona sunshine and emigrated to Chicago via Beverly Hills and Las Vegas. (“Fair deal,” Playboy, November 1963)

Despite the fairly lengthy work history she cites in her interview as a stewardess, model, and even a bunny at the Chicago Playboy club, it has been suggested that when she posed for the magazine in 1963, she allegedly was only 15. I don’t see how she could have done all that other stuff and only be 15, but I’m not really sure about these pictures now. I think I’m going to have to be selective about which ones I put up, cause I feel like this situation is just too iffy and skeevy.

I got that as-yet unsubstantiated information from Terre’s wiki entry, which contains this lengthy and I assume so-far unedited addendum from a person claiming to be her old friend and former roommate, who gives his name as Dave Nestor:

It needs to be pointed out that Terre Tucker is a fictitious name and history. Terre’s real name was Karen Smith, born to a large family of siblings in July 1948, in Chicago.

Surprisingly, Karen was only 15 years old when she posed for Playboy in June, 1963, turning 16 the following month. After a short training assignment in Chicago, Karen transferred to the Lake Geneva Playboy Club in Wisconsin. She then went on to work in Memphis, St. Louis and finally making her way to the Seattle area.

Karen was a very close friend who lived with me in a suburb of Seattle in 1972. When we met, she was recovering from cervical cancer which was pronounced cured after 5 years. Everyone who met Karen, immediately fell in love with this funny, interesting, beautiful and very sexy person. After meeting her 16-year old sister, be assured, these features run in her family.

(Mr. Nestor, you seem like a nice person, and I don’t want to tell you how to live your life, but you might want to really take that part about her teenaged sister out, because it can be construed as slightly creepy.)

Among other business ventures, Karen was in great demand at car and boat shows where she signed autographs and posed for photos as Terre Tucker, throughout the 1970s and 80s.

Unfortunately, cancer returned in the late 1980s. Karen passed just before Christmas in 1990 and is survived by a son and daughter who shall remain anonymous.

davenestor@yahoo.com

I got no clue who to believe on this one. All I know is in her interview she said her favorite food was ravioli. And I like that stuff, too. The uncontroversial end!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “NSFW November: Miss November 1963, Terre Tucker”

  1. NSFW-November-Miss-November-1963-Terre-Tucker : Sysmaya Says:

    […] https://thethoughtexperiment.wordpress.com/…november-miss-november-1963-terre-tucker/ […]

  2. Dave Nestor Says:

    Stan Malinowski was the photographer for Terre Tucker’s centerfold. But he was totally wrong about who she was and her age. She was Karen Smith and was 15 years old. She turned 16 in July 1963. Karen came from a Catholic family of several children, all of whom were very attractive. Read the story of her centerfold and you will see problems. First, Karen never set foot in Arizona or Nevada. There is no such airline as Transcontinental Airline and there is no store called O’Brian’s in Phoenix.

    But Karen was a beautiful woman who did work at car shows and was well known in Seattle. She posed as Terre Tucker and we had a lot of fun with her fake personality. I am so sorry that she suffered so much in 1990. Cancer is a terrible disease.

    She was funny, beautiful and my mother is still angry with me for not marrying Karen. Sorry Mom.

  3. Jed Leyland Says:

    Interesting she resembles a young Judith Exner…and was Playmate the month JFK was killed.

  4. Classic Cutie of the Day - TDW Tease Says:

    […] 19 at the time of the shoot according to the magazine, but that claim is disputed by a certain  “very close friend” who says Tucker was closer to […]

  5. sharon1rogers Says:

    Terre Tucker was my best friend for a little over a year. I am Sharon Rogers, the one pictured above on the Cover of the issue where Terre was in the centerfold. There are pictures of the two of us in her layout story. I never knew she was 15…it was a secret she kept from everyone. I just now found out when I read the story above. Surprisingly, I lived near her when she passed away and didn’t even know it! I had been told she was in Florida when I tried to find her once. She was a fabulous, outstanding person and I loved her so much! I went with her almost every day on her photo shoot for the centerfold. Photographers needed assistants because back in those days the cameras had “flash bulbs” that had to be changed after every shot! I mainly went along when the shots were on locations and not the ones in the studio. The picture above in the bathing suit was taken as the sun was coming up over Lake Michigan and I was standing a few feet from her. It was freezing cold! She was the most fun and adventurous person I have ever known. I wish she was still here and would so love to meet her children. I didn’t know she had children. I never knew her as “Karen” either…. She also went by the name “Genna Taylor” (because it sounded like “genitalia”). She had quite a sense of humor!!! Rest in Peace Terre. I will always love you. xoxoxo

  6. bob tucker Says:

    Let me try to help clearing this up. I’m Terre’s first cousin, Bob Tucker. Her father Red Tucker and my father Bill were brothers. I first met her as youngsters in Scotsdale, AZ where her folks moved. She dropped out of the family and then showed up as the November ’63 centerfold. She was raised Southern Baptist as were all of her aunts and uncles (6 total) and cousins. I tracker her down and we exchanged a few letters before she tragically passed away with cancer. Her given name was Zelda Lee Tucker so you can understand any nickname she would have chosen and “Terre” was perfect. I hope this helps clear some of this up.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Wow, the controversy continues after all these years. I never thought I visit this site again, but, this is Dave Nestor. It really bothered me that Karen was supposedly older than I, so I had her apply for a copy of her real birth certificate in Chicago. We went to Olympia Washington and a friend in the License Dept. arranged for a new driver’s license for her. Karen was 24 in 1972. Folks, just do the math.
    There was no one at Playboy actually named Terre Tucker, no TransContinental Airlines or any of the other BS in her centerfold story. In the 60’s most girls used fake names because their parents would have a stroke if they knew they posed for Playboy. Karen was a “good Catholic” girl and followed the tradition of the times. Anyway, enough of this, bye!

  8. bob tucker Says:

    Again, I’m her first cousin by blood, our father’s were brothers. Her real name was Zelda Lee Tucker and her nickname was indeed “Terre”. She was 19 when she was Miss November in ’63 and did live at the Chicago Playboy Mansion for a time and there was a later article about the Mansion with a few of her pictures and some of Christa Speck. Everything in the Nov. ’63 centerfold story was true. Please trust me and let her rest in peace. Thank you.

    • E. Says:

      Thank you for the clarifications, Bob. I wonder if it is possible that you and Mr. Nestor are thinking of two different women? Besides her beauty, it seems the mystery lives on.

      • bob tucker Says:

        Well, there was only one Terre Tucker for that centerfold. I can assure you she was my first cousin. It caused some turmoil during a family reunion shortly after that issue. And, I corresponded with her a few time up until her untimely death. Zelda Lee, may you rest in peace.

  9. sharon1rogers Says:

    I have to agree with you “E”. Terre and I were roomates and best friends. It bewilders me that she wouldn’t have told me she was only 15. Plus, how could she have been an Airline Stewardess at 15? Certainly the airlines do a closer search than that! Also, I was told she passed away in Florida, not Seattle, If she was in Seattle, then we were only miles apart. I always made sure she could find me if she was looking and if she moved to Seattle, I’m amazed that she never looked me up! Perhaps Bob Tucker can tell me if she really lived in Seattle and did she have two children? I’m not trying to drag this on, I really want to know. I truly loved her…..

    • bob tucker Says:

      I’m not sure about Seattle, but she was married and i think she had two children, but she sort of divorced herself from our family and they were mostly Southern Baptist, but she was in Florida I believe when she passed away, but I had lost contact with her toward the end. Her dad, Red, and my dad were brothers who had four sisters who all stayed in Texas…Red went to AZ, my dad to CA so the family was scattered about and most of the cousins didn’t keep in touch. I keep in touch with another first cousin in San Antonio who verifies everything I have said. Trust me, Terre is Zelda Lee Tucker, a lovely and kind first cousin of mine. It’s been many years and we weren’t that close, I’m sorry to say so I’m giving you the best information I have.

      • Marco Says:

        Hello Mr. Bob
        Could be possible to know where is located your cousin’s grave?
        Thanks a lot in advance.
        Marco

        • Anonymous Says:

          I’m going to be 68 in Sunday and Terre was about two years old if I remember correctly and even though we did some letter writing to one another, we stopped for some reason well over 40 years ago. I’m sorry, I have no idea where her final resting place is and our last Aunt died a few years ago to all six of our aunts and uncles including our fathers have passed away. I have verified everything I have tried sharing with you folks with another first cousin in San Antonio who also wrote to Terre for some time. May she rest in peace. Regards. Bob

  10. Bryan Keith Armstrong Says:

    Zelda Lee Tucker was my aunt. Her sister, Jo Ann was my mother. My mother killed herself in 1964 when I was 9. Red, her father is said to have had something to do with her distress at the time. All that can verify anything are now dead including Zelda and Jo Ann’s mother Sally who only recently passed away in California…

Leave a Reply

