Music Moment: “Sailor Jack,” by Grant Hart

Grant Hart – Sailor Jack


“Little Sailor 2” by queenofspiders on deviantart.com

A few weeks ago, I had spotlighted the song “You’re the Reflection of the Moon on the Water,” from the new LP Hot Wax, by former Hüsker Dü and Nova Mob rocker Grant Hart.

Well, I finally managed to force myself to stop playing that on repeat and move on to another track from the album. I don’t know about you, but I am completely the type of person who can listen to one song over and over virtually without tire, until I am done with it. Things just get in my blood.

It is just as cool and retro-sounding, with those same wonderful organs, driving rhythm, and layers of percussion, guitar, and vocals. It’s also every bit as ’70’s, Hollies-, Doors-, and southern rock-influenced as the other track I shared, with some Beach Boys thrown in for good measure. Totally awesome!


One of my fave photos of Bette Davis and I finally found it in glorious over-saturated technicolor!

He’s a silver nitrate shadow
on a field unbroken white
when his ship comes in to focus
see him in the sweet harbor light


Pretty sure this is Shalom Harlow

As a boy he went to wander
As a man he went to sea
Now when pirates come to plunder
he defeats them effortlessly

Sailor Jack
Sailor Jack
Sailor Jack
Sailor Jack

Honestly, I can’t understand nearly all the rest of the song, not contiguously enough to accurately transcribe any verse. Sorry. The album is too new for lyrics to be out on the net yet. Still an AWESOME song!!


“Sailor Girl” by basistka on deviantart.com

I will keep you posted on the rest of the tracks from this album as I get to them in their own time. And maybe, someday, I’ll come back to this entry and insert the proper lyrics to this song, cause I’m feeling very shoddy about that half-assed effort I’ve thrown down so far!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Music Moment: “Sailor Jack,” by Grant Hart”

  1. milo Says:

    with all the sailor images…im bummed you did not steal cinders sailor pic.. lol…. keep up the good work!!!

  2. milo Says:

    i will send it to you…. but dont replace it..i was playing..lol love ya

Leave a Reply

