Railing against my own stupidity — misguided Bookfoolery and forcible rejection

I did a stupid thing and decided to skip The Tommyknockers. Instead, I read L.A. Confidential, then Red Harvest, then some subpar book from Jeffery Deaver that was a bit afield from what I usually expect of him.


Image via thegunnshow right here on the wordpress. Girls Like a Boy Who Reads. My cover looks exactly like that but I do not look exactly like him. Check the blog out.

He spells it Jeffery and not Jeffrey, but that is not today’s issue. Also I am mad at him for getting tired of his Lincoln Rhyme characters (you may remember their portrayals by Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie in the film adaptation of The Bone Collector) and moving to this boring woman in Monterey as his new detective, but there was a preview in the back for a new Lincoln Rhyme so he is sort-of back in my good graces. Jury is out: he better not do anything stupid like kill off Lincoln or his hot redheaded girlfriend Amelia. That is still not today’s issue.

Today’s issue is that I skipped The Tommyknockers which I always read over the Fourth of July in order for maximum synchronicity and a karmically blessed Summer, and I thought I’d try something different and not be a slave to superstition, but I think I got a little overly cocky. Right away bad things started happening.

And it’s obviously all because I did not read The Tommyknockers and the blame for this situation can be laid only at the door of that fact and has nothing to do with my own behaviors and weaknesses. (eye roll)

Now instead I’ve read the Gentleman’s generous loan of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and I’m about to make a date with Milo for us to simultaneously begin Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.

Pictures come from Une femme est une femme and allthatsinteresting on the tumblr.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Railing against my own stupidity — misguided Bookfoolery and forcible rejection”

  1. doubleclicktf Says:

    Hello. If you’d like a new book to obsess over (apologies if you’ve already read it), then I thoroughly recommend “Sum: Forty Tales From The Afterlives” by David Eagleman. He’s a neuroscientist-turned-author, and in this book he has imagined forty versions of what happens after you die and turned each one into a 2-4 page short story. They’re great ideas, and sometimes he repeats himself a little, but it’s a great achievement. I keep reading bits of it to people, and strangely they don’t get annoyed.

    You can read the first couple of chapters in the Look Inside feature at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sum-Forty-Tales-Afterlives-Vintage/dp/0307389936/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1278626870&sr=8-1

    • E. Says:

      Thank you so much for the link, the book looks awesome — most amazing to me was that underneath the description, in the “Customers who bought this also bought” section was one of my favorite books, Einstein’s Dreams. I will be sure to check Eagleman’s book out. Thanks again!

  2. milo McMiloson Says:

    Abe will make it better!! Is this why you avoid me too. The time i locked you in the closet with 400 boxes of mac and cheese was just a joke!

    • E. Says:

      No, I love mac n’ cheese. I think of that as the fondest eight months of my life. (twitch)

      Honestly if I avoid you it’s because you know me too well and I hate my tendency to get maudlin around you. No One Is To Know that I feel feelings. Ew!

  3. Dainty Says:

    This is such a sad story! He’s obviously desperately in love with you, you’re probably his first and perhaps even his last.

    I think your pity has come back to bite you in the ass

    • E. Says:

      I agree that it is squarely my fault. And besides my pity biting my ass it is also my ego and my weakness. I didn’t do my best by him over the years, and that guilt’s on me.

  4. John Salisbury Says:

    Eh, even though the book-reading thing is pretty fucking weird, I’d be willing to bet that most women have had a very similar experience with at least one socially inept man. Speaking as an SIM myself. I’d go with Not Your Fault.

Comments are closed.


