Dickens December: A line for the infamous day


via nsfworld on the tumblr.

There are dark shadows on the earth, but its lights are stronger in the contrast.

(Charles Dickens.)

I believe with the highest respect in the good intentions and heroism of the Greatest Generation, but I do not think they are the only great ones. They exemplify what has always been true of the best part of human nature, what the cynics would have us believe does not exist any more and maybe never did at all.

I disagree with those cynics. I don’t think I could disagree more, in fact.

Every generation experiences cataclysm, and we always think we are living in the endtimes, but the world keeps on going.


via igor+andre on the blogger.

The generation that is not shocked by the cataclysm, that is not galvanized, the generation that stops helping one another, that ceases to attempt to steer humanity through the flotsam of all the garbage with which our lesser numbers have choked up the ocean of human experience — that is the generation who will see the end of the world. Or at least the end of a world with people in it.


Ibid..

So far, to my knowledge, no full population of any generation stricken by apocalyptic terror in the face of life-changing (or -ending) events has looked at the rising waters and jumped into the whirlpool instead of banding together and heading further up and further inland.

As long as we have hope, as long as we keep looking for that higher ground, we will be the strong light against the darkness.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Dickens December: A line for the infamous day”

  1. Hawkins Dale Says:

    Holy cheese toast! Where do you get these photos? I try hard to make interesting images, but the stuff you choose is astounding. Really. Where the FUCK do you GET these IMAGES?

    Sorry for the capital letters. But I meant loudness.

  2. E. Says:

    Top is from nsfworld on the tumblr, bottom two are from igor+andre, in their “inspiration” file. I’m so glad you asked because I sometimes see myself ripped off without a “via” credit on the use of a rare shot and I hate to do it to others. (I don’t know who the original photographers of these particular images are but when I do I try to say so.) I’ve been in a hurry today and have to keep adding tags and credits after posting.

    What I do is just sit for long whiles flipping through pictures, sometimes on flickr, tumblr, fotolog, sometimes on google images and occasionally bing, and right click whatever strikes my fancy. Sometimes a user will actually credit the original photographer, and then I’ll see if he or she has an official site and browse around that. Later, when I’m putting together a post, I mentally or physically go through my folders and find the best images for what I’m doing.

    I guess what I’m saying is I like to let the images come first and just “be,” as a huge collection through which I regularly look, and, once I’m writing, it will usually come to me as I work which image would have the best impact to accompany a post. Like having an unusually large file of stock photography at a magazine.

    With this post, I considered going the literal Pearl Harbor pictures/ Towers on 9/11 / Vietnamese girl on fire route, but I was trying to shoot for something different with the direction my thoughts had taken, so I decided to go more symbolic instead of graphic in the images. Thanks for ratifying the decision with your compliment!

Leave a Reply

