Winter of my discontent: The invincible summer within


via.

In the depths of winter I finally learned there was in me an invincible summer.

Albert Camus

That’s what I’m talking about. Right there. I’m serious.

That truth is exactly what I hoped to discover in this project. And when I read it, I thought, but I have done this already, last Autumn, when I came back from such bad health. And I mulled it over in my mind and realized that all my choices and my actions and even my thoughts since last Fall have been slowly turning toward this idea that I not only have the right to, but in fact need to pursue the summer dreams, and not get bogged down and bound up in doubtful snow. This may seem elementary and obvious to you, but, for a person as repressed as I’ve always been, this idea is revolutionary.

That invincible summer inside me that I always let the depths of winter drown out deserves to shine no matter what. I’m going to particularly try this tonight. Wish me luck.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Winter of my discontent: The invincible summer within”

  1. Brian in Wien Says:

    I loved the words in this post. They sounded as Shakespearean as the theme. I could imagine some character saying something like:

    I must pursue my summer dreams unbound by doubtful snow
    And from deep Winter’s gloom let invincible Summer rise

    (I have no idea if that is even close to the right meter)

    The Winter is more than halfway over now, it is really cool how you’re using it to face things others would rather not.

  2. Brian in Wien Says:

    I don’t know why I said Winter is more than halfway other. Wishful thinking, I guess. And the Shakespeare should be better:

    I must pusue my summer dream unbound by doubtful snow
    And from deep Winter’s gloom let invincible Summer within me rise

    Oh well.

Leave a Reply

