Milton May: Out of the earth

Oh, Milton May. You say goodbye, but I say hello — to John Milton June! Coming tomorrow.


This is a far more relevant picture for me than you, likely.

Out of the earth a fabric huge
Rose, like an exhalation.

(John Milton. Paradise Lost, Book 1, 710.)

I’ve been trying to quit smoking so I can, like, live longer or whatever. Mixed results but I’m doing pretty well all in all. I just hate to admit anything like that because then if you fuck up or fall off the wagon everyone knows and people can’t know things about me. Anyway, hence the smoking picture simply because of the word “exhalation.” I’ve made flimsier illustrative leaps to promote vice along with literature, but usually for nudity, not cigarettes.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Milton May: Out of the earth”

  1. amyvdh@gmail.com Says:

    I’ve followed and enjoyed your blog for a while but not commented until now. I know this is unsolicited but you say you’re trying so I thought I’d mention what worked for me to finally stop (I smoked for more than 15 years) in case you were interested in checking it out – Alan Carr’s “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking”.

    I don’t think I do it justice when I try to explain the method but I know that such a huge part of smoking for me was how I *thought* about smoking and what made quitting so difficult was the fear of not smoking (non-smokers don’t get that bit). I wouldn’t say the book is especially well written but it was staggeringly effective in helping me. I’d compare it to a jedi mind trick but really it’s more like Plato’s cave.

    Maybe you’ll find the book of interest but either way, I enjoy your blog.

  2. E. Says:

    Thank you, Amanda — I like what you’re saying about Carr’s book. I definitely think that my own mind is a major part of my battle to quit: there are times I expect to smoke, and I feel like I “deserve” it or crave the escape it provides me. I’m going to look for it.

Leave a Reply

