John Milton June: The world was all before them


LifeVol. 73, No. 25. 1972. via.

The world was all before them, where to choose
Their place of rest, and Providence their guide:
They hand in hand with wand’ring steps and slow
Through Eden took their solitary way.

The End.

(John Milton. Paradise Lost. Book XII, 646-49.)

I hope you enjoyed John Milton June, and sorry I was such a slug about regularly posting. Maybe next year we’ll try Milton May all over again. Thanks for coming on the ride and what willll Julyyyy beeeee….? (I’m open to ideas.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “John Milton June: The world was all before them”

  1. Brian in Wien Says:

    Milton has been much better in these digestible chunks. I usually cry out for him to get to the end of the sentence after a while.

    Why not Yeats Yuly? Something really funky and experimental might also be good for this hot month.

    • E. Says:

      You’re right: Yeats needs a month. I picked the July theme three days ago (I write most of this a few days ahead, on average). I’m psyched for it. But August is wide open.

  2. Brian in Wien Says:

    Well for alliteration’s sake, I figured August would be for Auden, but then that would be too predictable for you, methinks. Of course, you could mess with me and have it anyway.

    I’m sure as in the know as you are that Auden spent his last years in a little house near Vienna. Maybe I will go there in celebration of Auden August (if it does somehow come to pass).

    Later,
    B

Leave a Reply

