Heinlein Month: Nobody lives without love


Pierrot le fou (Jean-Luc Godard, 1965).

But, damnation, no matter how many times you get your fingers burned, you have to trust people. Otherwise you are just a hermit in a cave, sleeping with one eye open.

(Robert A. Heinlein, The Door Into Summer. New York: Doubleday, 1957.)

Of course the idea of ending up a hermit in a cave, even sleeping with one eye open, has its attractions: namely, 100% control over your life and emotions, and the certainty that others cannot hurt you. But as Heinlein points out, that’s no way to live. Love hurts. Does loneliness hurt more? It’s a conundrum. I honestly don’t know. I guess I’ll keep you posted.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Heinlein Month: Nobody lives without love”

  1. namelessneed Says:

    love the film, obviously sensible quote, thanx again

  2. Dairyfarmer Says:

    Being cajoled into solitude from fear of the outside world is not my definition of being 100% in control of my life.

    • E. Says:

      This is why I’ve always loved exchanging views with you. Because I would have NEVER said I was cajoled in to it, I would have proudly and likely poutily touted how I was in charge of my own isolation, but, once you say it, I’m totally checking myself. And you’re right, it’s totally reactionary.

Leave a Reply

