Heinlein Month: Healthy exercise


via.

Sex without love is merely healthy exercise.

(Robert A. Heinlein)

When I first found this quote, I thought, “Where did that come from?” I couldn’t place it and still can’t: I cannot find a source for this quote. Being as we sci-fi geeks keep pretty meticulous track of our heroes’ writing, the lack of traces to published work makes me suspect this pearl of wisdom is ascribed to Heinlein inaccurately.

But the quote itself is accurate. Yes? To my dismay, I’ve found it to be very true.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Heinlein Month: Healthy exercise”

  1. Pryor Says:

    I can’t say I agree with the sentiment. Blissful, prolonged sensations shared with another (an Other?), crescendoing (maybe) to orgasm is “merely” “healthy exercise”? Sign me up for that exercise class!

  2. Jaycee Says:

    It might be one of the quotes of the character Lazarus Long in Time Enough for Love. There is a long chapter that contains nothing but quotes and aphorisms attributed to that character. But even if not in that chapter, I believe it is still from that book.

  3. Bill Miller Says:

    It’s from the ‘Second Intermission” chapter of _Time Enough For Love_. The actual quote is…

    Copulation is spiritual in essence – or it is merely friendly exercise.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

